Similac Schimilac – What really is the essence of this Motherhood?

Many people were quite moved about the similac advert on motherhood. I was genuinely intrigued by the varied responses; as well as the intensity with which some were portrayed. I initially thought it was a nice message and an important one – “the sisterhood in motherhood”. Doesn’t it just sound very nice? 

similac 2 similac still 1

Then I found out it was a formula advertisement and I still thought it was a good message. I reflected on its source and the power of ego and representation of various symbols of groups of people, the intention – the sly intelligence. And I still thought it was a good message. What surprised me were the other responses from so many other people. Why did I not agree with my brethren? (The social network with whom I so easily identified.) Was something wrong with me? Why was I not as passionately inspired by a message when I discovered it is from such a manipulative source? Since I am normally so passionate about these topics!? it really got me thinking.

And I slowly allowed the memory and the images to come back to me….I remembered that tangible oneness with all mothers that I had felt when I birthed my first child. When you feel like you are one pulse with a divine organic raw mother Godhead. When the energy pulsing through your body is the same energy shared by mothers all over the universe….crossing cultures education nationality religion and age. That feeling when the world stops and every moment is forgotten except for the amazing beautiful baby you now have in front of you that is yours! The love. The responsibility. The melting away of everything else to consume you in a most deep self-sacrificing love that you never knew possible.

And then I remembered my own mother. I found ones perspective of ones own mother changes somewhat when you become a mother yourself. I considered how I might judge her according to her mothering choices she made when she was my age managing life and young children. How I was weaned at 9 months; how I never co-slept; how I attended day creche from a young age….etc and I considered my relationship with my own mother and how I know absolutely and completely that she deeply deeply loved me and trusted me. How I deeply love her and respect her for her unconditional love to me.

Now I understand the physiology research of the neuroscience and psychology behind attachment parenting. Shew I devour the research and the articles. I love this science and I get it and I adore teaching it and practicing it because it is SO important for bonding and parenting and giving our little ones the best start! I practice and preach it passionately!!

Yet, I again reflect on the nature of the emotive responses to the similac advertisement…. and I considered humility. Now I digress from the content and focus on the mood. Humility is not a cowards quality. It is not a quality of shyness nor inferiority. Humility is a deeply divine quality….true humility gives you a power….a connectedness to faith and an attractiveness. By delivering a message with humility – ones heart can open and one can interact on a heart level. A heart exchange.

Not on the level of ego. Ego meaning we are identifying with our status or our choices or what we are known for – which are all part of the material or bodily identity.

Humility speaks to people in a way that encompasses everyone equally on a soul level. It does not judge; and it does not divide. It speaks with compassion and love.

I realised this is the message I want to bring forward. This is what came pouncing out at me as I reflected on the responses written with such passion and intensity, where I felt divided from the very group of people I most identified with: on this very same topic.

Humility is more important to me. That honouring of integrity of words and sharing that does so with love and compassion and not judgement nor ego.

How can I stand in outward judgement about the very essence of the sisterhood of motherhood in terms of the various practices a mother uses? No matter how strongly I may feel or know…to come forward in judgement is to nullify our words and intention and mute our message. So is there a trick to express passionately AND humbly?

I really must also say that I am not sitting here spouting out “Thou may not judge!” while I sit back and do so. I try not to be a hypocrite ! and I am, too, so far from perfect or even non-judgemental! But I do try. And when I do something that does not feel so good – when I feel my intention was somewhat uncool or facetious, I do reflect on that black dark feeling in my heart and consider how I can make it light again. I just keep trying. And I really feel humility is a good goal to strive for.

The sisterhood in motherhood. Why not? Why see so much more into it than simply that? Even if we know without a doubt that our choices on parenting issues are perfect and superior and right. How do we get to play that card and lose our integrity to important qualities and values we are so desperate to grow and imitate for our children?

If you haven’t seen the advert yet, here it is: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NqPHqaSb8PM

I would love to hear your thoughts and comments! Please feel free to leave your own ideas here.

If you would like to read more about parenting here is an interesting blog about how parenting affects our children and society! 

https://gaurilowe.wordpress.com/2014/04/09/why-parenting-matters-workshop/

Some more thoughts on humilty…. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wXEinvmG6l8

